Creaative Inspirations: shimmer time again!

WOOHOOO the weekend is almost here!  happy thursday!  nyone else as ready as i am??  i get loads more done on the weekends while hubby plays with pezzy.  and THIS weekend we will also be going to hang out at the Leesburg garden show – love it!

so anyone else REALLY love cupcakes like me???  cupcakes have had such a huge surge in popularity – not just in the stamping world but with specialty cupcakeries popping up all over.  well hubby did something amazing yesterday….he showed up with THIS:

if you love cake you KNOW what Red Velvet is – quite possibly the best cake on earth though the only one i have ever liked is the one i make from scratch with a family recipe…so what was inside?

quite possibly THE most incredibly delicious cupcakes i have EVER put in my mouth!  turns out the Red Velvet Cupcakery shop is just a couple blocks from the site hubby is on right now in DC.  while i DID love the red velvet cupcake he brought for me i must say the key lime he got for himself was TO DIE FOR!!

blog tag

ok onto the real story!  i have a super shimmery Creative Inspirations post for you today.  i have to say i just LOVE using these paints!  i challenged the Design Team with a sketch this week and they did an incredible job with it!!!  here is mine:

let me just take a moment to say i LOVE my cricut…..i cut those green leaf-like swirls with the Storybook cartridge (a must have) and accented them with a white pen.  The border punch is an old one from fiskars.

here is a closer look at my lil’ flower.  isn’t she spaaaaaarkly?!?!  you should see it in real life!!!

i started with a plain white Prima flower.  then i took 3 shades of purple – light purple, amethyst & royal purple and my Fantastix applicator (still using the same one) to jazz it up.  I put a watered down wash of light purple on the bototm layer, amethyst on the middle layer and royal purple on the top center layer.  the embossed ridges on this flower adds to the effect even more!

the other DT members did an incredible job with the sketch.  be sure to check them out on the CI blog – so many wonderful different ways to use these shimmery paints!

it is looking like another beautiful day out today so i hope to have time in the yard with pezzy this afternoon – still have work to do out there!  i hope some of you are having some great outdoor weather too for spring!

hugs

better blog siggy

7 Responses

  1. I love that card Marti, green and purple together has always been a favorite of mine.

  2. I love purple & green too & I really like that border punch, even if it is old.

    I thought of you last night in class when someone asked about eating gumpaste. The cupcakery looks way yummier! You’re making me hungry for the cuppies at Crumbs in NYC that I love (and get to enjoy in a few wks)

    Enjoy the fantastic day!

  3. Love the way you altered the prima with the paints!

  4. yum! cupcakes…. great card!

  5. Great job Marti! I just love using the CI paints to add shimmer to the primas!!!

  6. Beautiful sketch card- I love the purple flowers- I love the edge punch you used as well- and the flourishes…! Oh- I hope you can keep Pezzy out of the cupcakes! They look very tempting- great guy that husband of yours!

  7. Marti this is AWESOME girl!!! I love it!!! Are those CI paints what was formerly known as Twinkling H2Os?

    Hugs~ Kim

Leave a comment