POM: crafty caking

hi everyone!

thursday? really?? already???  i haven’t even had a chance to tell y’all about blackberry picking last week.  they give you these little pint size or so containers and we filled 3 of them.  oh but it was painful.  so let’s see, we got there as early as possible – 9:15.  it was not stifling out yet.  $18 just to get into the farm.  we wandered around on the various play things and the giant jumping pillow for about 45 minutes.  then i figured we better get picking as it was warming up FAST.  so we trek out to the area with the bushes are and before we even start picking she starts wailing about the heat.  she screeched and cried the ENTIRE time i tried to pick berries.  so we trek back to the store where i shell out another $18 for the berries and miscellaneous other over-priced goodies.  somehow i think the grocery store might have been the better option…

i am super excited about my post today!  for one it is my DT project for the Prisma & Other Mediums Challenge over on The Outlawz – make your own patterned paper.  Now i had LOADS of ideas as this was always one of my fave things to do.  but then i got to chattin’ with cat {silly skittles} about her cakes.  I had been going through her pictures on her Sugar ‘n Sweets page – they are really gorgeous!  anyway as we were chatting we decided to do a little double challenge with each other and i used one of her cakes as inspiration for this card:

now cat and i go WAY back int he papercrafting arena.  coming up with an idea to match her cake was SO much fun but i also wanted to try and incorporate as many of the products as i could that we discovered together back when we started out.

I started by using Pearl Viva Decor Modeling Cream and a Crafter’s Workshop Stencil for the background.  Next i took some pastel Prima Got Flowers from YEARS ago and misted them with Perfect Pearl Perfect Pearls mixed with water – one of Cat & I’s FAVE things.  you can really see the shimmer on the blue one.  of COURSE i had to put a glittered skittle in the center of each flower – i mean Cat is behind the whole skittle craziness!!!  Next I took two matching layer Maya Road Butterfly chipboard and painted the bottom one with Rose Viva Decor Precious Metal Color paint and then inked covered the top layer with Spun Sugar Distress Ink and Distress Stickles – another fun product from back in the early days just an all new color.  next i knew i had to include a pink ribbon and silver ribbon slide – dug out of my box of SU metal embellies i have also had for years! and of COURSE i had to finish it off with a Studio g sentiment – the Studio G stamp sets are what brought me and Cat together in the first place when there was such a frenzy over each set released and i was selling them by the hundreds!

and now you MUST go check out the amazing cake that inspired this card – here is a little peek for ya:

Head over to Sugar ‘n Sweets to see the deets!

2 Responses

  1. LOL oh my gooooosh I heart this post! Studio G stamps! I STILL love them! As little as I’ve made cards in the last year, I still pick up some of those Studip G’s when I see them! I’m going to find out if they are food safe so I can stamp on my cakes LOL!!!

    You did so awesome with this card! That stenciled swirl is YUM-O! I actually got the pattern for the swirls and flowers from another old favourite – the embossing folders fromour Cuttlebugs! Omg, I’m having a brain moment, it’s a Cuttlebug, right?

    This is getting epic! I love what you did with the card and had so much fun with this twist on a “challenge” for you! Let’s play again next month! LOL

  2. The card and cake go perfect together! What an awesome cake and your card is so pretty with the butterfly and swirls! LOL At blackberry picking…my uncle had a blueberry farm and we spent many sweltering days picking berries but soooooooo worth it! My mom made the best BB pies, pancakes, bread…yummy! Hugz, Colleen

Leave a Reply

