Mojo Monday Card in preparation…

hi all!

ok so first things first – one of my awesome CHA buddies wendy won a cricut cake at CHA.  so she made her first cake and her blog about the adventure is HYSTERICAL!  read it HERE.

i got to craft!  hahahha!  i had an incredibly unproductive day yesterday but i DID get to hang with my buddy suzanne – she missed me so MUCH she couldn’t wait for me to come over and do a little stampin’ HAHAHHAHA!!!  she was havin’ marti withdrawals :p  she has lots of exciting things coming up!  Monday i made the card below.

i needed a jumping off place for my first card after such a long absence so i grabbed the Mojo Monday sketch:

Today my project has a big difference – my coloring medium:

The papers are from Cosmo Cricket – Pixie-licious.  The border punch is ek success.  I used my nesties to cut the circles from felt to use as a base for my roses.  The tag piece is also a Spellbinders die.

My image is a digi from Stamping Boutique – Audrey with Cake – isn’t she adorable???  Fun to color too.

Recently my crafting buddy Suzanne asked me to do another online class for her online classroom Color Me Creative – she said she wants a Colored Pencil class so of course i agreed!  despite the fact that i have strayed from them for awhile now, i have really been missing them so this is the perfect opportunity to pick them back up.  I was a colored pencil artist long before i picked up a stamp and really enjoyed it.  You can see some of my art work HERE.

So i have pulled the pencils back out, dusted them off and got them set back up.  for this image i used Prismacolor pencils – Raspberry & Pink Rose for the dress, Warm Grays for the white areas, Peach Beige, Cream & Deco Pink for the skin, Dark Brown, Goldenrod & Canary Yellow for the hair.

There are a number of different ways to use colored pencils – here i have not used ANY blending techniques – just straight pencil.  I can say they do not work all that well on digi images because the ink does smear.  This is one of the things i hope to find a solution to for the first class.

I forgot how much i enjoy the better control i get with the pencils and look forward to doing more work with them!  So what do y’all think?

i hope you are all having a fantastic week!

6 Responses

  1. Marti, this is so super cute! You are truly amazing with the colored pencils, your highlighting is spot on!

  2. I have very few digi stamps and ALL I have is colored pencils. I have only colored 2 of them so far so I am looking forward to what you have to offer.

  3. Stunning card! I would love to see a colored pencil class. I have a few watercolor pencils but don’t know how to use them right.

  4. Love the card- love the idea of coloring with the pencils too! I have a set of Prismacolor pencils and do not use them nearly enough!

  5. Marti…you should have never strayed from the pencils. Your art work is fabulous….keep it up PLEASE !

  6. Love your card!! I just purchased a set of Prismacolor pencils and after reading and looking at many tutorials online have begun to practice and see if I can learn to use my pencils with the same success as I see so many others doing. So far, I’m loving the pencils… but all I’ve done is barely try some blending with OMS. I’m finally going to actually try coloring a stamped image as soon as I post this comment! LOL!! I was just picking out my colors a few minutes ago and took a computer break before starting to color… yes… I’m apprehensive! LOL!!!

Leave a Reply

