christmas sewing with my cricut

hi everyone!!!!

bet i am not the only one finding it hard to get myself back into work mode after the holiday!  it has been YEARS since i took such a thorough break from work to just hang out with my family and enjoy it!  hubby had a 5 day weekend and it was fantastic!  of course now i will be killin’ myself playing catch up and CHA is just around the corner YAY!!!!  i have WAY too much to do for that.  projects for the Viva Decor booth with the new product they are releasing – and BOY IS IT GOOD!  as well as a class to plan – yes i am teaching a class – YIKES!   suzanne and i are also throwing a party the night before CHA begins so if you are going to be there stay tuned as more info comes out!!!!!!!

so let the whirlwind begin!!!!

today i wanted to show you a sewing project using my Cricut to make appliques – LOVE this ability!!!!  and it could not be easier!  check it out:

I made these for my MIL – i am pretty sure she liked them.  she makes hand sewn bears and other little furry friends that are amazingly realistic and really cute so i thought she would really understand and appreciate a handmade gift!  if the fabric pattern looks familiar it should – it is by Basic Grey – Figgy Pudding!  one of my all time faves!  the ornaments are all cut using my Cricut – just iron on some heat and bond ultra onto the back of your fabric, place it on your mat and cut away!  you will need to make sure you are using a new mat and a new blade.

after i ironed the appliques on i did a satin stitch around the edges – the ultra bond will NOT hold the appliques on!  despite the package saying not to machine stitch thru it i had no trouble at all and it goes so much faster than hand stitching!  (sorry mom).  i tied my little bows using my bow easy and sewed those on along with ribbon strings for the ornaments on the towel.

This was the first time i attempted anything like this.  i had alot of fun doing it and i am pleased with the result!  i could really do some cute designs for Pezza with my Cricut!  after all i have to put that new Bernina to work right!  and boy do i plan too.

meanwhile i have lots of papercrafting to catch up on!

 

 

 

 

 

if any of you are friends with me on facebook you will know pezza has been in RARE form lately and quite a handful (yes MORE SO than usual if that is even possible!)  well all that driving your parents to the very brink can be really exhausting work:

yep.  she is passed out COLD in her room on her rocking chair…well halfway on her rocking chair anyway 😛

so did everyone else have a super awesome christmas???  any fave gifts out there or HUGE surprises????  i would love to hear about them!!!

hugs

 

 

 

2 Responses

  1. Your sewing looks great! It reminds me that we forgot to bring my mom’s machine home yesterday (oops!) to get looked at since it’s not working right. I used to do some of those appliques, but it would be awesome with the cricut.

    Glad you could finally get that wild child to sleep! Hope you got some well deserved rest too.

    I got some good papercrafting goodies, but it was what I asked for 🙂 The 12×12 Tonic guillotine paper trimmer, 2 cricut carts, & some Cuppie stamps from Taylored Expressions.

  2. Got my usual add a link to my diamond bracelet, then some Chanel 5 powder and colonge, money from several people SO I decided to order a CRICUT EX,…..now to learn to use it..wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

