perfect poinsettias

hi all!

well drake headed back home last night.  we had utter baby devastation when he was saying goodbye to pezza.  it was very difficult for all three of us.  she told him her heart felt broken without him 😦  i really hope it is not another year before he visits again.  they are driving his car back so of course i am worried sick and their cell phone is dead 😛

now on to happier things – i have mentioned something big coming and here it is:

feel free to copy the graphic and help spread the word.  Viva Decor has been SO generous and given me lots of very cool products to give away!  that’s good news for ALL OF YOU!!!!  the only thing better than trying out some new products is trying them out for FREE!!!!  there will be a new tutorial every day for 7 days and one lucky commenter will be chosen EVERY DAY to win ALL of the viva products used in that day’s project!!! 

 

i have another Christmas card for ya today – it is another one i feel extra special about because it uses another one of the stamps drawn by my brother James and sold exclusively at I Brake For Stamps!

i used a sketch for this one and have completely forgotten which one but i am fairly certain it was an older one from Splitcoast Stampers.  i used one of my favorite ribbons – this sheer polka dot and made the bow with my bow easy.

Once again as is my brother’s style, this image has perfect shading built right in so i pulled out my VERY neglected twinkling H2Os and set to work.

i chose to make a few of the leaves/petals green for more color.  i LOVE twinks but completely lack the ability to do proper shading with watercolors so i simply painted my colors on and let the stamp’s shading take care of that.  once i was done painting i used a stiff stencil brush to add flecks of gold paint dots across the image.  i have always loved this effect.

be sure to visit Della over at I Brake For Stamps and check out the rest of my brother’s gorgeous vintage Christmas images – just CLICK HERE!

i wrote out my christmas card list yesterday while pezza was in gymnastics – i am about ahlf way done with the cards 😛

well now i am off to me studio to get to work on the finishing touches of that HUGE blog party i am having next week!!!  are YOU coming??!?!??!

hugs

4 Responses

  1. This is so pretty! I just love the shimmer & the stamp is wonderful. So much talent in your family. I like that pp you used with it too.

    Lucky you for being 1/2 done with Xmas cards. I haven’t even made the list – but I do have a few done.

    Tell your son to visit more often – once a year is ridiculous! He won’t even recognize his sister growing up.

  2. Love the card and the stamp. I have a stamp of your brothers that I got from you shop. I did not know that his stamps were sold there, and of course I can not wait for the viva decor party.

  3. Marti-beautiful job. I love it.

  4. Beautiful card, Marti – so “Christmassy”!! And do I ever like that stamp. I have a “thing” for poinsettias anyway, and this stamp is so beautiful. Thanks for sharing. Hugs, Sharon :o)

Leave a Reply

