yep…HALLOWEEN!!!

hi all!

so…..our coffee maker broke….AGAIN….our nice new super awesome Kuerig K-cups coffee maker.  third coffee maker in 4 years.  i am thinking there is something wrong here….so we have been using kevin’s grandma’s perculator – not my fave coffee.  anyone have any suggestions for a really good coffee maker you LOVE?

it is still nice and chilly here in the morning but a tad too warm for my liking – bring on fall!  (sorry suzanne) i get totally re-energized in fall and spring – i love it!  that is probably what has been driving my house wide clean out mission lately!  and i hope to get to the yard next – i have LOADS of bulbs that need to be divided and spread out (mostly going to move a bunch into the back gardens).  then weeding and mulching.  always weeding and mulching it seems…

Our Bonus Holiday issue for Through the Craft Room Door should be hitting your mail boxes in early October – i can’t wait to hear what you think!  in the meantime get those Nov. submissions in!!!  we are looking for thank you ideas, hostess gift ideas and super bowl party ideas as well as anything using the newest Slice or the Cricut Imagine (i should be getting mine in a few more weeks!)  we also have a sketch challenge for submissions:

we want to see ALL the different ways you interpret this sketch from clean and simple to all decked out as well as other ways you are inspired by the sketch – perhaps for a layout, a gift bag, what can YOU come up with???

Send all submissions to craftdoor {at} yahoo {dot} com.  To check out the full submission info CLICK HERE

we are approaching the end of september FAST and you know what that means – HALLOWEEN!!!  and halloween decorations!!!!  i LOVE halloween decor!  today i have the newest addition to my halloween decor this year:

a halloween pumpkin light block!  i knew the MINUTE i saw the Cricut Carving mini cartridge that i wanted to do this project and it is SO SUPER easy!!!  i taped around all four edges with painters tape.  then picked a pumpkin face and cut it out on vinyl with my blade depth on 1.  i peeled off the surrounding vinyl until i was left with just the face.  i laid transfer tape (contact paper) over the face so i could pick it up and transfer it to my glass block.  then i just took a sponge dabber and my orange viva decor pearl pen and dabbed it on all over.  how easy is THAT!?

Next i wrapped a super wide ribbon around the sides leaving the bottom opening uncovered so i could put lights in and out.  i made a big florists bow (they can make you one when you buy your ribbon) and stuck it on top along with this great halloween pick i found at Michaels (yes they have had halloween stuff out for months.)  i also put a piece of brown paper on the back to help hide the wires inside.

so what do you think????  i swear i could make dozens of these!!!!  my second immediate thought on seeing this cartridge was t-shirts!

Hollyn is going to a Hot Wheels Rally at her preschool this afternoon so i hope to spend some time in the craft room!

has anyone else started their halloween crafting yet?  how about CHRISTMAS!!!!????

hugs

3 Responses

  1. I really like how you made the lighted pumpkin! It’s such a good idea. I don’t decorate for Halloween because no one trick-or-treats to our house. It just makes me sad to get candy & no one shows up.

    And I am already over the Xmas decorating after another morning of being up until 5am making more samples for the J’s ads! I don’t think I’ll bake anything or make any gingerbread houses at all this year!

  2. Hiya Marti! How are you? I heard you all had a great time this past weekend (without me – insert pouty face). I hope you’re doing well. The pumpkin decoration is really cute!!

    Coffeepot – I have a Cuisinart built in grinder and stainless steel caraffe coffeepot. I LOVE IT!! It was the last best gift my hubby gave me before he abandoned this marriage in January. I love love love having my coffee ground fresh every morning and my favorite coffee is Dunkin Donuts original. Mmmm….

    Take care!

  3. Beautiful work Marti! Such a gorgeous fall decoration! Love it! And your craft room looks amazing! Love the spice racks holding your Viva!!!
    Hugs~ Kim

Leave a Reply

