super cuppie!!

not alot of chit chat from me today!  i have been up to my ears in cake and my project is no different!  our challenge for Try It Out Tuesday over at Susana’s Custom Art & Card Design was to make a shaped card i decided to keep with the cake theme and cut this card out with the Sweet Treats Cartridge on my Cricut.  in addition i am entering this in several other challenges:

Splitcoast Stampers Color Challenge 288: Blushing Bride, Always Artichoke and Marine Mists
Daring Cardmakers: Masks
Paperplay Weekly: Shaped Cards

i had an idea i wanted to try for the icing and i am loving the effect. i masked the *cupcake paper* portion with a couple post it notes and then *iced* with Viva Decor Modeling Cream. i used a plastic, angled pallette knife, smoothed it on, and then gently lifted it off of all the surface to make a texture. peeled off the post it notes and let it dry while i worked on the rest of the card. i used a big red button for the cherry on top and a spellbinders borderability (35% off right now!!!) with dots of light blue Viva Decor Glitter Liner to decorate the bottom.

my cute little image is the bonus image from the Aurora 2 Collection – you get her free when you buy the full collection! She is colored with Copics and cut out (a rarity for me). I adhered her with foam tape.
i hope you all have fun weekend plans!!
hugs

5 Responses

  1. LOOOOOOOVE it! The icing is FABULOUS!!!!

  2. This is really cute! I like how the icing turned out. And I hate to cut around stamped images too. I never get the border even.

  3. How sweet and what great coloring! Thanks so much for joining us this week at PaperPlay Challenges.

    Peace & Luv,
    Jeannie

  4. Hi Marti!
    I just wanted to let you know that I truly enjoyed meeting you yesterday – your personality is just as sweet as your Cricut desserts were! I love this card, it’s such a cute idea to pair the little cutie girl with a cupcake shape. LOVE the icing and borderability! As soon as my craft room recovers from the SCS get together I will try my hand at the sketch. 🙂
    Have a wonderful evening!

  5. This is such an adorable cupcake card! Wonderful design and colouring! Thanks for joining us on PaperPlay this week!

Leave a Reply

