doubling up on ya!

hi all!

we had SUCH a wonderful day yesterday!  it finally cooled off enough to play outside!!  so we got to run around and get some energy out!  ok ok PEZZA did the running around.  i have to say she has been a really good girl while daddy is out of town but she does miss him.  she is a total daddy’s girl.

i ran into a friend esterday i had not talked to in awhile an dshe told me about something that happened to her that i just CANNOT get off my mind.  i will not go into details here BUT i just want to say – if you see a friend or neighbor who really seems to be struggling, especially one whose hubby is deployed overseas – offer to help.  ask what you can do to alleviate the stress.  if she is the topic of neighborhood discussion or gossip get together and pitch in to HELP – send your own hubby over to cut her grass, take her kids off her hands for awhile, have everyone who is gossiping pitch in $15 bucks instead and get her a cleaning service to give her house a good once over.  DON’T call CPS because you think she is overwhelmed.  not only do they have enough to deal with but they can’t help anyway.  neighbors should be doing that.  for my part in it – hubby and trev will be offering to take care of her yard for her and my neighbors and i will be offering up meals or whatever else she might need.

ok – climbing back down off my soapbox.

i have a busy blog day for ya today – TWO PROJECTS.  not only do i have my usual thursday TIOT post for Susana’s Custom Art & Card Desing but i was also asked to do a guest spot on the Copis Creations challenge blog!
blog tag
The SCACD girls got a fabulous sketch from suzanne this week. i HOPE you are all planning on playing along!! i know i had alot of fun designing for it!  in addition we were to use flower soft on our cards. 

Here is mine:

the sketch gave me a great opportunity to play with one of the many new AMAZING Viva Decor products Susana got in recently – Modeling Cream. i used Champagne on the pink border.. First i cut myself a “stencil” with a Fisakrs border punch, covered the back with repositionable adhesive and laid it on my paper. then quickly smoothed on the modeling cream (like icing a cake) and removed the paper stencil. the modeling cream has a delicious shimmer to it and is very smooth & creamy.

i used a piece of paper from the beautiful Kaisercraft Hey Birdie collection with a bit of Vintage Photo distress stickles on the corners. i dug threw my stash for the flowers – the pink felt one has a pretty prima center. i used some of the perfectly sized chipboard swirls to frame the image. i gave them a spritz with Smooch Spritz Emerald Sprinkle and then added a few Pearls with a viva decor cream pearl pen. the other flower has one of the cool glittery buttons susana has in the center tied with scrappers floss.  The braided trim is from Webster’s Pages.


My main image is one of the adorable new stamps by elisabeth bell – Go Green – isn’t she sweet? i used a bit of flower soft in her flower pot and colored her with copics. then i cut her out with a Spellbinders Labels 4.

****************************************************************************

Next up is my copic creations challenge – BIRDS!  we all received INCREDIBLE digis from Tiffany Doodles.  These images are amazingly detailed!!

i loved mine so much i created  little set!

i received a hummingbird image.  one of the GREATEST things about digi images is the ability to re-size them any size you want.  so i was able to print a size fit for a card and a bigger one fit for a bag!

now i will let you in on a little secret – i have NEVER been able to do a bird.  i used to try all the time back when i did colored pencil artwork and they always turned out AWFUL.  the great thing about the images from tiffany doodles is that she puts the detail lines in for you – makes it so much easier to get a great looking finished pic!

After coloring i added some sparkle with a bit of glue and Art

Institute glitter – love the stuff…need more…

When i cut the image out with my nesties i left the die in place and gently blended ink around the outside with my foam ink blending tool.

My paper is from Basic Gray’s Kioshi pad.  I cut the swirl using my Cricut and then i had these gorgeous white roses from wild orchid.  so i ran my copic marker roughly around the edges of the petals – TA DA – matches my project perfectly!

what is that fabulous BLING running across my projects in two bands???

It is Gala Glitz – a fairly new product by Art Institute Glitter and i am IN LOVE with it!!!  it is a mixture of all sorts of goodies – this is white so it has diamond dust ultrfine glitter, clear vintage shards, clear microbeads and silver microbeads – DEE-LISH!!  i use scor tape to stick it on – works wonderfully!

my LO for these was from Jen’s Sketch for you to try.

BOTH the SCACD blog and the Copic Creations blog have some incredible projects up today – i hope you take time to visit!  then go offer some help to a neighbor who looks like they could use it!!

i hope you have a wonderful day!!

better blog siggy

10 Responses

  1. Oh Marti!! I just love what you did with this hummingbird!! Your coloring is awesome! I love purple & green together! Thanks for making my little digi look so good!!! =)

  2. I’m so thankful there are people like you to help out a neighbor, especially a military spouse. Deployments are so hard!
    Love your creations! You just amaze me with your creativity!

  3. Wow! Hi Marti – sorry I haven’t had a spare minute to THANK YOU so much for joining us for this challenge! Your projects are soooooooo amazingly beautiful, I was blown away when I saw them! You really rocked this challenge with your gorgeous coloring of this image. I love all the awesome details you’re added to each piece too! Totally gorgeous! Thank you sooooo much, I truly appreciate it! hugz, Mary

  4. Love both your projects Marti! You did a great job on the bird! But I want to know about the Go Green card. Where did you get that fabulous ribbon?!? LOVE it!

  5. Great projects! Thanks for sharing!

  6. Preach it sister. Too many talk but do nothing. Thanks for the reminder to be a GOOD neighbor. Now I am off my soapbox. Beautiful card.

  7. Your bird set is gorgeous, Marti. I love how you did bag and card to match. Your coloring is beautiful and I love the color combo you used. So glad you joined us for this challenge.

  8. These are really gorgeous Marti! I love the coloring and the added shimmer on the hummingbird. Happy weekend!

  9. I am glad you shared your story about your friend. Unfortunately, something similar happened to my best friend. I am so glad that you and your family are helping her out.

  10. Marti these are both absolutely amazing hun! Wow your coloring is awesome girl!!! Gorgeous work! Love that Glitz beady stuff…gonna have to get me some of that! And LOVE what you did with the new modeling cream…so gonna try that with a punched stencil! You truly rock the crafty world hun!!! Can’t wait to meet you IRL at CHA!!! 🙂
    Hugs~ Kim

Leave a Reply

