Just Buggin’ Challenge Time! #23 – LOVE…

we are battening down the hatches for what my hubby is calling the snowpocalypse (insert dripping sarcasm here).  we will supposedly be getting 20″ – 30″ of snow in our area today and tomorrow.  he is home from work today so i am WAY HAPPY about all that snow coming down (sorry suzanne) even if it DID cancel my mardi gras Close To My Heart party tomorrow.  i don’t know why but i love to shovel snow!  i sure don’t like doing much else that’s useful…

blog tag

today’s project is for the current Just Buggin’ Challenge – Love Ya – make something for Valentine’s Day using you cricut.  Pezzy & I found some cute wreath makin’s in the Ms $1 bin and a heart-shaped grapevine wreath and I got this idea:


in keeping with my new wreath kick that started t Christmas…

i cut several shapes fro my Weddings Solutions Cricut Cart and tucked them into the other wreath picks.  I cut the shadow base shapes from  sturdier piece of cardboard off the back of one of my paper stacks (it was white so it fit easily into the scheme.) 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

 it doesn’t show in the pictures but i cut the base shape from pale pink cardstock and then misted them with pearl mist made from water and Blush Perfect Pearls to give them some shimmer.  if you are not into making your own mist i HIGHLY recommend the Smooch Spritz which is a GREAT deal AND works better than any of the others – you cn get it at SCACD and Susana has all the new colors in too!!  >>CLICK HERE<<

 

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Finally – to really jazz them up – i enhanced the top layers of the diecuts. I covered the first one in Martha Stewart Tinsel Glitter – GREAT fun stuff!!!  makes me think of fuzzy pipe cleaners with loads of glitz!  This is also available at SCACD >>HERE<< in TWO SUPER combo packs of mini vials (which is really all you need)  – One is regular colors and one is iridescent YUMMY!!  the center pic shows a die cut that i covered in pink Martha Stewart Metallic microbeads.  This last one i covered in clear Martha Stewart microbeads.  i know it is glaring but seriously – i could not get a NOT glaring picture which is kinda cool!

NOW HOW do you stick those things to the intricate die cuts???  SUPER easy.  i just ran them FACE DOWN through my xyron machine, make sure there is no adhesive *goobers* off the edges of the paper, and then cover it with glitter or microbeads – sticks WONDERFULLY!!  i don’t use my xyron to glue EVERYTHING down as the refills are expensive but they ARE indispensible for certain techniques like this and one i will be showing soon where i use my die cuts as stencils for a new product coming soon.

well time for me to run out & collect all the stuff that we left lying around the backyard from the last snow play day – like the shovel, the sled….cover the firepit…before the snowpocalypse hits!!  be sure and visit the Just Buggin’ Challenge blog to see what the other DTs have done with this challenge to get you inspired!!!

have a great day!!!

better blog siggy

3 Responses

  1. Gor-Geous!! Love it! Now can you make me one too :o)
    Stay warm!

    hugz,
    Suzanne

  2. BWAHAHAHA, snowpocalypse! I *LOVE* it! See, Kevin can be funny sometimes…LOL!

    I *heart* your wreath and all the pretty embellishments you did on them! Look at you go with your cricut…I wonder where mine is… 😦

    The microbeads are GOR-JUSS!

  3. That’s a really pretty wreath! I can never figure out what to put on them, so cricut cuts are a great idea.

    I’m glad you enjoyed the snow because I sure didn’t & we only got about half what you did. First step out the door & it was up to my knees from all the drifting. Of course that meant it went right in the tops of my boots & my socks were soaked for the next hour & a half while we used TWO snowblowers & a shovel to get half the driveway clear. (Circular driveways on 1.25 acres are a lot better idea in the summer).

Leave a Reply

