Just Buggin 16: Santa’s Little Helper

Remember the pic from yesterday of my table in the snow on our deck?  well when it was all said & done…:

Trev’s car after we dug out my truck and moved it over:

you can barely make out his rear view mirror and you can still see the imprint of where my tire was!  i can’t WAIT to scrap all the wonderful pics we got!  Pez had a BLAST playing in it!!

now for my project for Just Buggin this week…

blog tag

The challenge over on Just Buggin is Santa’s Little Helper – make a gift for someone using your cricut.  well that’s easy!  the cricut is AWESOME for making up gifts for folks!  today i have two more exploding gift card boxes for you.  these have been SO popular over on the Cricut board since mine was featured in the Chirp newsletter (tho TOTALLY NOT my own idea!!)

Here it is closed up.  the cuts on front have a shadow cut (very important) and are accented with the incredible glitz stickles in ruby slipper & tiara.  i added a few ornament printed skittles accents and then punched the lid edge with an MS edge puncher.  wrap a ribbon around it & tie a fabby bow!  mine is accented with some wax thread & beads.  when the recipient lifts the lid this is what happens:

The sides fall open and reveal the cash/gift card holder in the center!  In this case it is decorated with santa & his reindeer & his sleigh is in the center – it will have more than a buck in it 😉  each panel has a mat of the wonderful SEI velvet paper which is embossed with the snowflake CB embossing folder.  the sleigh stand is also embossed.

here is the other one:

i just LOVE these gorgeous ornament cuts!  and that swirl tree!  i wanted lots of shimmer on these so i pulled out my new smooch spritz i got from susana over at Susanas Custom Art & Cards (SCACD.)  now most of you know i am strictly a make-your-own-shimmery spray girl ala perfect pearls and water but i really wanted to try this stuff out – well it is fantastic!  i had LOADS of shimmer and NONE of the slotches i always get with glimmer mists from tattered angels.  so while i still love my perfect pearls this is a wonderful option for those of you who do NOT want to mix your own!

here is the *money tree*

to get the money pockets just cut TWO shadow pieces and only partially glue them together!

and now we are going BACK out to play in the snow!

better blog siggy

4 Responses

  1. I love your little gift boxes. What a clever idea!

    Blessings,
    Christine

  2. Those are fantastic! I have not made an exploding box, but I’ve been wanting to since I first saw it on the mb.

    You have so many awesome ideas packed in here! I love the little beaded details! Those Glitz stickles are some of my favorites too. And I never would’ve though to emboss velvet paper. You’re so clever.

    P.S. I sent you a card today & totally drew a blank on your last name, so hopefully they know who Marti “Pez-a-doodle” is – LOL!

    And glad the snow is there & not here for a change 🙂

  3. Wow! These are wonderful! I love the different way of
    ‘wrapping’ money!!! Thanks! I’ll have to remember this for future CASEing! 🙂

  4. Cute, Cute & clever–love it–great gift idea!

    I AM SICK OF THE SNOW—I need it to all go away, LMBO! I think we’ve only lost like 5″ of the 20″ we got—blech!

    Thanks so much for your beautiful Xmas card–that stamp is just precious & colored brilliantly! I hope you and your family have a wonderful holiday and very brilliant New Year!!

    hugz,
    Suzanne

Leave a Reply

