POM: gift card holder challenge!

hi all!

well i made it through surgery, though it was a bit rougher than i expected.  i only had local anesthesia and i can get grossed out so easily.  i fainted once when one of the boys lost a tooth.  so i kept nearly passing out/low blood sugar/ plummeting blood pressure – SO much fun.  ended up with 8 stitches and an incision far longer than i had any idea it would be.  however, the doc and nurses were AWESOME!  the doc even called me at home last night to check on me and his cell phone number was on the aftercare paperwork for emergencies.  i even managed to change my bandage myself without passing out this morning.  however i am working on one nice black eye and it itches something awful.  but if i rub it at all it hurts.  BUT i am cancer free, truly not a big deal.  i am just a big wuss!

******************************

several newsies to cover before getting into project goodness:

Cricut E2 giveaway/fundraiser – please help me spread the word so i can reach my fundraising goal for Lost Dog & Cat Rescue!

I am trying to narrow down which dollhouse I will be building for a charity auction on the Dotted Daisy blog – i have gotten it down to TWO choices from Real Good Toys – turns out they sponsor charity stuff and offered to become involved with my efforts YAY!!!!  so head over to Dotted Daisy after you are done here and cast your vote!

******************************

Today a new POM challenge kicks off on The Outlawz – Gift Card Holders.  The prizes up for grabs are REALLY good – $50 gift certificate to Oozak PLUS a $25 gift certificate to SCACD – how can you pass that up?!?!?!?

i don’t make these nearly enough.  here is mine:

please excuse the xmas gift card – it was the only one i had on hand :P  I cut the pieces using the Fabulous Finds Cricut Cartridge – an oldie but definitely a MUST HAVE.  I cut the tab file/holder at 4″ with the window.  then i cut a piece from some plastic packaging i had and put it in the window cut out.  Next I cut out the insert piece and attached the gift card to the back with a couple mini glue dots.  Next i cut out the bookplate/tag design.  i cut the insert piece from my PTI cardstock and then stamped and colored (Polycolor pencils).  The cherry on top is a dab of Liquid Pearls.  I used double sided paper for this so my project would look good from all sides.  A couple of glittered skittles make excellent little accents on the bookplate.

Head over to Dotted Daisy to vote for a house and then show us your fave gift card holder design on The Outlawz!

hugs

4 Responses

  1. Hi Marti – Proud of YOU for making it through that and changing your bandage! I kind of freaked the first time I had to change my bandage after my surgery.

    I also ended up with two black eyes after mine and looked like I’d been run out by a truck or something…NOT fun or pretty….but it sure was good to know ALL the Cancer was removed! :)

    Hugs,
    Lis

  2. So glad all is well ! ! Now for the recovery get well wishes and my prayers along too. Hugs, Diane

  3. Stunning project! I am glad that the procedure went well.

  4. So glad you were able to get your bandages changed. I hate tape, well, I hate the pulling off of tape part! Bet that was almost as much fun as your waxing, huh? Your gift card is so stinkin’ cute that I have another tab already open looking for that cartridge! Big hugs and prayers for a quick and uneventful healing!!
    Hugs~
    Dana

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 36 other followers