playin’ with clay Tim Holtz style plus studio G news!

hello all!

we have been having a deeVINE time here at my mom’s!  the weather is fabulous!  Sunday we had our crawfish boil family reunion so i got to see all my aunts and cousins PLUS eat boiled crawfish, potatoes & corn YUM YUM YUM!  GOT to be my favorite!  and of coursse like 4 helpings of dessert since i had to try it ALL!  i think i ate dessert again for dinner too…….

i have THE best cousins EVER – well family in general.  it is one long running joke when we get together.  saturday my brother and oldest cousin Tad arrived early so we had tons of laughs.  then they all decided to go play with a ouija board (sp?) – i have yet to hear those stories – but down here in bayou country we are still very in touch with the old beliefs surrounding spirits and such.  i think i laughed more this weekend than i do all year…well except when i am at CHA…..

my family hs owned this property for several hundred years and we have oak tress out front well over 200 years old and HUGE!!!  of COURSE they are kid magnets and have been for generations:

pezzy’s new little buddy from next door:

seriously y’all how CUTE are they?????

blog tag

new studio G!  i KNOW my gallery is seriously out of date and i hope to work on it soon.  in the mean time here are the latest pics i got (no series number for them yet):

blog tag

last i have a fun project for you that i did recently.  i had the opportunity recently to get into some Viva Decor Pardo Clay along with a number of other Viva Products and made several pieces with some Tim Holtz stamps:

i started off with a piece of Ranger’s white glossy paper and some alcohol inks – ranger’s paper IS the BEST to use with alcohol inks.  i did a simple polished stone background.  I stamped the TH stamp using Coffee Archival Ink.  i added a TH foliage embellishment & metal corner and a bit of german scrap across the top – German Scrap can be aged a bit or changed altogether with alcohol ink.  (Many of these items are in stock AND ON SALE on my website.)

my corner piece is Pardo clay.  I rolled it very thin with my pasta machine.  I stamped a TH corner stamp into the clay and then i brushed on some Viva Decor Precious Metals gold paint so it settled into the impressions but not so much on the surface.

The butterfly is some really cool stuff from Viva Decor and available now at SCACD called 3D Glitter Gel Paste.  I cut a butterfly from the Cricut Storybook cartridge out of the thick back of a DCWV paper pad to make my stencil.  Next I smoothed glitter paste over it, then removed the stencil for a gorgeous raised butterfly!

well that’s enough out of me for now!

better blog siggy

2 Responses

  1. I must have all 3 of those SG stamps!!!! Will you have a pre-order available? These are the best sets yet! I love, love, love them all!

  2. Your family homestead looks awesome! Those trees are gorgeous.

    Love the Studio G Sweet set. I haven’t gotten a whole set in a long time, but I may have to with this one.

    And I’m going next to sign up for my subscription to your magazine! Can’t wait.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 36 other followers